Saturday, April 18, 2009

Three times!

AND on a Saturday.

Do you find it ironic that I watched Food TV whist exercising?

Thursday, April 16, 2009

Staying on track!

Today was day two at the gym. I felt so good after my work out - it was exactly what I needed.

I'm not sure if I'll go again tomorrow or Saturday. I'll probably aim for tomorrow and worst case scenario, go Saturday. While I really like my gym, it's very small. They don't offer many classes and it's super busy at peak times. Luckily, I'm not on much of a time crunch right now, so I can go whenever I want to. Once I find a job, that will change.

When do you like to go to the gym?

Wednesday, April 15, 2009

One gym trip down...

Five to go before my pedicure treat! I did the treadmill for 40 minutes yesterday and felt great after.

I'm skipping today because I've got to go mail our taxes and get my hair done. I'll definitely go tomorrow because as of right now, I don't have any plans and a trip to the gym will get me out of the house.

The question is, should I make the appointment now or wait until I've actually completed my goal?

Monday, April 13, 2009

Five for Month 5

I'm down another 5lbs! Yay! Meeting with the Nurse Practitioner (Mitch) this morning was awesome. He's very happy with my progress and the fact that I'm consistently losing and he's happy that the weight is coming off slow and steadily. Mitch definitely made a point of telling me that I would be down another few pounds if I exercise more - I REALLY need to get on that. It's really hard for me to motivate myself to go to the gym. Maybe I will make a deal with myself that if I go three days this week and three days before I go to Dallas next week, I'll be treated to a fancy pedicure. Let's see how that goes for me :) Plus next week is the David Cook concert so I'll need to look amazing for that.

Next time I post I'll share my ER experience and the glory of kidney and gall stones!

Thursday, April 9, 2009

I'm really slacking on my posts.

It's not that I have been busy, either. I just haven't been in the mood to blog. The weight loss process is going very well right now. I go for my 5 month appointment on Monday, and hopefully it will bring me good news. I've gone down another pant size and am getting to the point where I need to buy new bras. I really should do that soon because I am literally swimming in my old bras and baggy bras are not attractive to anyone.

The biggest thing I have noticed with this last fill was that I am now unable to eat spaghetti. Penne and rotini haven't bothered me too much so it's probably just the shape of the noodle that's causing the annoyance. Also, any bread that is not toasted gets stuck. Stuck isn't even the right word though. Holy cow it hurts when there's an obstruction. There's no way to describe the feeling other than it feels like there's literally something stuck in my stomach. Hmm, interesting ;)

I had a big challenge a few weeks ago when I chaperoned a convention for the youth group I advise - junk food everywhere. I've never been a label reader but boy howdy, I was reading labels like there was no tomorrow. Luckily I packed some protein bars and trail mix because NOTHING was healthy. I pretty much od'd on organic animal crackers and pretzels (I cannot confirm or deny the presence of frosting on said pretzels). But, given how I would have eaten last year or six months ago, I am very proud of myself. I came back and weighed myself (naturally expecting to gain 2lbs) and had lost 1!!! That was an awesome feeling. A lot of it had to do with being on my feet and moving most of the weekend but still, I felt good after weighing myself.

The next few days will be a little more difficult because I try to observe Passover as best I can. Kansas City isn't the most "Jew friendly" place on earth so I have a hard time buying the things that were easily accessible in San Francisco. I have tried several new recipes and have more to try later in the week. It's hard to stick to the 60-100 grams of protein a day but I can definitely tell the difference when I consume less protein. I'm hungrier and moodier! That's not fun for anyone :)

So, until next time...the Real slim Shay D is out.

Saturday, April 4, 2009