Friday, March 13, 2009

Ahhh, another month.

The last month I have learned a little more about this whole "band" thing. First of all, I just had my 4 month appointment and I am now down 40.6lbs! Hurray!!! I am so proud of myself. The past month was definitely the most difficult so far, and I'm glad I seem to be acclimating to the process and rules somewhat well.

During my appointment today, we decided to leave my band where it is for now. I am experiencing some obstruction which means that I need to take smaller bites and be careful about the food I am consuming. Since I had a substantial loss, it was a mutual decision to leave the band as is for the next month. I'll probably have an adjustment in April, which is fine :)

Exercising has been sporadic. I've only been to the gym once this week. It's been a rough week for me, emotionally and I just haven't had the motivation to go work out. I definitely need to change my frame of mind. My goal for next week is to go to the gym 3 times. The following week, I'll aim for 4 times. It's harder than I thought to get into an actual gym routine. Maybe I would exercise more if I had a treadmill at home. Hmmm. That's something to consider.

Anyway! I went through my closet last Friday and put all of my "fat" jeans in a pile. John asked if I was going to make a quilt of denim . Hardy har har. I'm actually thinking about reselling some of them. I figure fat girls need jeans, too - right?

Until next time, stay skinny Kansas City. (Month 4 pictures will come tomorrow or Sunday.

Wednesday, March 4, 2009

According to my family, I don't eat enough.

On Friday night, my family decided to gang up on me to discuss how little I eat now. It's so interesting to me that the exact same people who have encouraged me to lose weight for years are now telling me I don't eat enough.

My dad commented on how I was a cheap lunch date because I ordered off the children's menu and my sister went on and on about how she doesn't think I am eating enough.

PEOPLE - I can only have one cup of food per meal. You know this. I've told you several times.

When they made said comments, I felt like i had to defend myself. I mean come on! Be supportive instead of critical.

I will admit that it was pretty difficult to stay "on track" while in Dallas. I was sure to eat a South Beach bar every morning and tried very hard to ensure consumption of protein and veggies. It's not easy when your entire family insists on thick crust pizza for a meal. I literally had one piece of pizza and didn't eat the top part of the crust. With a little salad, it filled me up but I felt SO guilty about eating greasy pizza. I'd rather have a chicken breast or piece of fish. WHAT IS WRONG WITH ME???

I'm feeling pretty guilty because I haven't been to the gym since last Tuesday. I promised myself I would go today. There's a yoga class tonight at 6:30, but I've got plans so that won't work out. I think I will go and do some cardio and from this point on, try and schedule around those classes. I KNOW I've got to start toning. I already feel saggy and that's not fun. At all.

More later!